Skip to Content

The 14th Chicago Latino Music Festival: Mexican Modern with KAIA SQ


Admission actions

  • Register
  • Registration Required
    Free with museum admission

Explore the rich and colorful music of Mexico with the KAIA String Quartet. The Chicago-based, all-female ensemble performs compositions by midcentury and contemporary Mexican composers, on the occasion of the exhibition In a Cloud, in a Wall, in a Chair: Six Modernists in Mexico at Midcentury. Selections include Metro Chabacano by Javier Álvarez, String Quartet No. 1 by Carlos Chávez, String Quartet No. 2 “Los Magueyes” by Silvestre Revueltas, and Cuarteto Virreinal by Miguel Bernal Jiménez.

Presented with the Chicago Latino Music Festival

A photograph of four women holding string instruments posing in a group in an industrial setting.


Photo by Todd Rosenberg

Persons with disabilities who would like to request an accessibility accommodation for an Art Institute program are encouraged to send an e-mail to two weeks in advance of the program. 


Support for Live Arts programming is provided by the Woman’s Board of the Art Institute of Chicago.


Sign up for our enewsletter to receive updates.

Learn more

Image actions