CSO Chamber Music Series: Pioneering Artists

Live Arts


Admission actions

One of the first to compose for the combination of string quartet and piano, Schumann's Piano Quintet embodies his wife Clara's sentiment that all of the composer's work are "orchestral in feeling." Widely considered America's first successful female composer, Amy Beach embraces the same romantic, melody-laden style of Schumann in her lushly sentimental Piano Quintet. Composer Ruth Crawford Seeger fearlessly sought out her own compositional voice, and her trailblazing String Quartet 1931 refreshes a centuries-old instrumental genre with bold dissonance. The afternoon's postconcert gallery talk showcases pioneering women artists across a variety of mediums and time periods.

City Landscape

Joan Mitchell. City Landscape, 1955. Gift of Society for Contemporary American Art © The Estate of Joan Mitchell. 

Persons with disabilities who would like to request an accessibility accommodation for an Art Institute program are encouraged to send an e-mail to access@artic.edu as far in advance as possible.


Support for Live Arts programming is provided by the Woman’s Board of the Art Institute of Chicago.


Sign up for our enewsletter to receive updates.

Learn more

Image actions