This building, the first for this congregation, was dedicated on January 13, 1901. It was demolished in 1925 to make way for the church presently occupying the site at 2649 N. Francisco Ave. which also vacated the 2800 block of W. Schubert St. where Cobb's building originally stood. American Contractor's Chicago building permit database reported the issuance of a building permit for this structure on November 10, 1900, p.20.
Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish Building
c.746-804 W. Belmont Ave. (originally 1608-1704 Belmont), Chicago, IL Henry Ives Cobb, 1902
American Contractor's Chicago building permit database reported the issuance of a building permit for this structure on August 30, 1902, p.24. This building was likely demolished for the construction of the church currently extant on this site.
1 day 7 hours ago The Art Institute of Chicago TOMORROW at 4:00—See the world premiere of “The Electric Stage” by performance collective Manual Cinema.
Manual Cinema uses vintage overhead projectors, multiple screens, puppets, actors, live camera feeds, sound design, and a live music ensemble to create immersive visual stories on stage and screen.
1 day 9 hours ago The Art Institute of Chicago A Sunday on La Grande Jatte has been among the museum’s most beloved paintings since it first entered the collection in 1926. ARTicle celebrates the birthday of Georges Seurat, with some fun facts about this pointillist masterpiece.
2 days 2 hours ago The Art Institute of Chicago #TBT Ladies strike a pose in Blackstone Hall, 1909.
Demolished in 1958, the enormous two-story gallery once spanned the area between where the Asian art and Prints and Drawings galleries are today and housed over 150 plaster cast sculptures, many replicas of Greek and Roman art received as gifts from the French government.