You are here

Photography Associates

The Photography Associates was founded in 1989 to create a forum devoted to the art and appreciation of photography.

Membership in the Photography Associates helps to support the collection and activities of the Department of Photography at the Art Institute through the funding of acquisitions, the presentation of programs that foster understanding of photography, and the encouragement of private collecting.

Associates enjoy private dinners three times yearly—twice in the company of a prominent artist or scholar and once at the home of a notable collector in the Chicago area. Photography Associates members also receive invitations to at least one special exhibition opening. 

The Photography Associates season runs from October to May.

Annual Dues:

$1,000 individual membership
admits one to all events

$1,500 dual membership
admits two to all events

$2,500 platinum membership
admits two to all events, plus invitations to join photography curators in additional activities at the museum, galleries, artists’ studios, and locations outside of Chicago

To join, click here

For detailed membership information, please contact the Department of Photography at (312) 443-3663 or send us an e-mail.

Tina Barney
Uta Barth
Walead Beshty
Adam Broomberg
Oliver Chanarin
William Clift
Gregory Crewdson
Keith Davis
Rineke Dijkstra
Joan Fontcuberta
Lee Friedlander
Emmet Gowin
Sarah Greenough
David Hockney
Yasuhiro Ishimoto
Mark Klett
Sally Mann
Susan Meiselas
Annette Messager
Paul Messier
Ray K. Metzker
Sheila Metzner
Joel Meyerowitz
Duane Michals
Richard Misrach
Abelardo Morell
Zanele Muholi
Vik Muniz
Nicholas Nixon
Martin Parr
Gilles Peress
Hugh Phibbs
Fazal Sheikh
Taryn Simon
Dayanita Singh
Raghubir Singh
Alec Soth
Joel Sternfeld
John Szarkowski
Bill Turnage
Anne Tucker
Diana Walker
Artur Walther
William Wegman
James Welling
Charis Wilson
Joel-Peter Witkin
Sylvia Wolf