You are here

Celebration of the Return of Chagall’s America Windows

Thursday, October 28, 2010
6:00–9:00 p.m.

The Auxiliary Board of the Art Institute of Chicago celebrated the much-anticipated return of Marc Chagall’s America Windows. The windows were removed from public display in 2005 as construction started on the Modern Wing. This deinstallation was the first in their 28-year history, and it provided a unique opportunity to carefully study, clean, and conserve the windows, returning them to their original brilliance and strengthening them for many years to come.

Fully restored, the windows were installed in a new gallery space dedicated to the rich history of public art in Chicago. Mayor Richard M. Daley and his wife, former Auxiliary Board member Maggie Daley, were in attendance to assist with the unveiling of the windows. Also in attendance was Bella Meyer, granddaughter of artist Marc Chagall. The Auxiliary Board members of today are proud and honored to continue the traditions established by the founding members of

Event Chairs:

Ted Keim
Courtney Thompson
Patrick Wood-Prince

Host Committee:

Kathleen Kampp Cook
Angela R. Elbert
Lori Gray Faversham
Peter Goldman
Peter Guarraia
Carla Raglin hahn
Roger G. Hill II
Mary Jeanne Kneen
Susan O’Brien Lyons
John E. McGovern III
Matthew Pettinelli
John W. Rutledge
Jason P.C. Smith
Elizabeth C. Treacy

Auxiliary Board Members, 1976–77

Honorary Host Committee
Mrs. Edward McC. Blair, Jr.
Mr. John A. Bross, Jr.
Ms. Jonna Chewning
Mrs. Richard Daley
Mr. Paul Dykstra
Mr. David P. Easrle III
Mrs. Marshall Field
Mr. Michael Goodkin
Mr. David C. Hilliard
Mr. Thomas E. Keim
Mr. Andrew McNally IV
Mr. Patrick Shaw
Mr. Edward B. Smith, Jr.
Mrs. Edward B. Smith, Jr.
Mrs. James Stirling
Mrs. Mitchell Watkins
Mr. Robert E. Wood-Prince
Mr. Ralph Youngren
Mrs. John Zenko 

Patron Sponsors:

The Boeing Company
Franczek Radelet P.C.
K & L Gates LLP
Thomas E. Keim, Jr. and Marielle Lifshitz
Latham and Watkins LLP
Susan and Douglas Lyons
Matt and Kristi Pettinelli 

Table Sponsors:

Kate and Daniel Bryant
Kathy and John Q. Cook
Paul Dykstra
Lori Gray Faversham
Lisa Giles
Carla and Brian Hahn
Kate Karet and Jeff Levick
Monique and Charles J. Kraft III
John E. McGovern III
Nina Owen and Michael Belsley
Jason P.C Smith
Peter and Michelle Thompson
Elizabeth C. Treacy
Winston and Strawn
Meredith and Patrick Wood-Prince


James Falzone Trio

Wine Provided by:

Julia and Kelly Goalby
House of Glunz