You are here

Asian Art Council

The Asian Art Council (AAC) is a support organization for the Department of Asian Art of the Art Institute of Chicago, which houses one of the major US collections of Asian art from Japan, China, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, the Himalayas, and the Islamic world.

The Asian Art Council (AAC) acts as a forum for education and discussion about Asian art—from ancient to modern—through lectures, demonstrations, gallery walks, and visits to private collections. The AAC biannual newsletter provides information about events and Asian art across the country. Through dues and fundraising functions, the AAC provides financial support to the department for acquisitions of Asian art objects. Additionally, members are able to give their voices to the selection of these objects at the Annual Meeting.

Events hosted by the AAC have included lectures on such topics as Contemporary Asian Art, Iconoclasm in Afghanistan, Digitizing Chinese Art, Japanese Shrines, Korean Ceramics, and South Indian Murals; demonstrations of the Japanese arts of bamboo basket making and ikebana and of Chinese ink painting; visits to private collections of Asian objects such as Southeast Asian ceramics and bronzes, Chinese jades, and Japanese paintings; and curator-led travel to museums and collections in other cities. Patron-level members receive exclusive access to small curator-led tours and conversations.


The Asian Art Council invites you to join our group, though you must be a member of the museum. If you are already a member of the museum, call (312) 443-7282. If you're not a member of the museum, you can join online.

Membership Levels

Patron Levels

  • Gold $5,000
  • Silver $2,500
  • Bronze $750

Standard Membership

  • Family $300
  • Individual $150

Please call (312) 443-7282 for current membership level benefits.

Read our biannual newsletter: Spring 2017


Ann Grube

Vice Presidents

Arjun Aggarwal
Heather Black
Gay-Young Cho
Patricia Brett Erens
Charles Harper


Diane Levy


James C. Roche

Honorary Directors

Marilynn Alsdorf
Margot Pritzker
Thomas Pritzker
Roger Weston


Jack Beem
Frances Blair
Lisa Cavanaugh
Marion Wood Covey
Nancie Dunn
Susan Higinbotham
Richard Horwood
Barbara Levy Kipper
Victoria Lautman
Dr. Edmund Lewis
Casey Maciasz
H. George Mann
Charles Mottier
James M. Trapp
Katherine Tsiang

Tao Wang, ex officio

Newsletter Editor

Patricia Brett Erens


Suzie Oppenheimer