You are here

CSO Chamber Music Series: Thoroughly Modern

June 11, 2017
Fullerton Hall
$31 per person; call (312) 294-3000

The final CSO Chamber Music series program of the season honors late-19th and early 20th-century music and revels in the new with a post-concert tour of the modern art galleries by SAIC educator Giovanni Aloi. The CSO’s Oberon Ensemble performs Hindemith’s Viola Sonata op. 11, no. 4, composed when he was just 25 years old. The program also features Mahler’s Piano Quartet in A Minor and Dvořák’s Piano Quartet no. 2 in E-flat, op. 87.

Max Beckmann. Self-Portrait, 1937. Gift of Lotta Hess Ackerman and Philip E. Ringer. © 2016 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn.