You are here

CSO Chamber Music Series: Great Experimentations

March 10, 2013
Fullerton Hall
For tickets, call (312) 294-3000

Paganini Quartet:

Alison Dalton, violin

Hermine Gagné, violin

Diane Mues, viola

Karen Basrak, cello

Bartók String Quartet No. 1: Lento

Haydn String Quartet Op. 20, No. 1

Wolf Italian Serenade

Bartók String Quartet No. 5

Pablo Picasso, whose genius is celebrated in Picasso and Chicago, was noted, as much as any other artist, for his constant experimentation with style and technique. Bela Bartók provides a musical analogy with the late Romantic, post-Wagnerian Lento movement of his first quartet forming a sharp contrast with the symmetrical construction of his five-movement fifth quartet, written a quarter of a century later. Program includes art commentary and gallery walk.

Presented with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Pablo Picasso. Head of a Woman (Fernande), 1909. Alfred Stieglitz Collection.