You are here

Concert: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Chamber Music Series—Nature Breaking Free

February 9, 2014
Fullerton Hall
For tickets, call (312) 294-3000

Join members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in the acoustical splendor of Fullerton Hall as they draw connections to Delacroix's Lion Hunt.

Brahms String Quartet No. 3
Bartók String Quartet No. 6

Eugène Delacroix was fascinated by the savagery of wild animals. The dancelike movement of his Lion Hunt suggests a perpetual struggle, a romantic craving for escape from the restrictions of a civilized environment. Both of these quartets represent a form of escape: for Brahms it was a burst of giddy freedom away from the struggles of completing his first symphony, while Bartók’s last quartet was an introspective reflection as he dealt with political disintegration and personal loss.

For tickets, please call (312) 294-3000. For additional upcoming concerts, please visit the concerts and performances calendar.

Eugène Delacroix. Lion Hunt, 1860/61. Potter Palmer Collection.