You are here

Concert: Avalon String Quartet—Stand No More but Fly

October 21, 2012
Fullerton Hall
Free with museum admission

Chicago composer Augusta Reed Thomas's Rise Chanting (2002) echoes Emily Dickinson's poem. Bedřich Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1 recalls his life in Prague.

Presented with Northern Illinois University School of Music.

Marc Chagall. America Windows, 1977, detail.  Gift of Marc Chagall, the City of Chicago,  and the Auxillary Board of the Art Institute of Chicago.