You are here

Bus Tour: Architectural Gems along the Fox River Valley

May 1, 2014

Join Cynthia Noble on this exploration of significant architecture along the Fox River Valley. The Fabyan Villa was the home of Colonel George and Nelle Fabyan from 1905 through 1939. In 1907 the couple hired Frank Lloyd Wright to enlarge and remodel the existing farmhouse and shortly thereafter took up permanent residence in the villa. Tour the Fabyans’ Prairie-style house, which contains their private collection of Asian artifacts, natural history specimens, original furniture, and family relics; then explore the 1910 Japanese garden. After lunch at Wildwood, continue to Hampshire and visit Muirhead Farmhouse, the only known farmhouse designed and built by Wright during his lifetime. The 3,200-square-foot Usonian home, built in the early 1950s, is now surrounded by nearly 800 acres of restored prairie. The house remains in the Muirhead family today and underwent extensive restoration in 2003. Our final visit is to the privately owned Wing Mansion. The stunning 1891 Queen Anne Victorian is situated on one and a half beautifully landscaped acres. With 23 rooms, seven types of wood, four fireplaces, five porches, nine exterior colors, a carriage barn, stained and leaded glass, and a plethora of collections and displays, it is a true architectural treasure.


Muirhead Farmhouse. Frank Lloyd Wright, architect. Photo by Sarah Muirhead Petersdorf.