- Shop Online
- Join and Give
About This Artwork
Lion (One of a Pair, South Pedestal), 1893
Bronze with green patina
261.7 x 114.2 x 287 cm (103 x 45 x 113 in.)
Lion on south side of AIC signed, left front: "Kemeys / 1893"
Gift of Mrs. Henry Field, 1893.1a
Iconic guardians of the Art Institute of Chicago, the Lions have stood at the Michigan Avenue entrance since the building’s inaugural year. The site became the museum’s permanent home at the conclusion of the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition, where the new structure had hosted lectures and other events for fairgoers. Modeled by Edward Kemeys, an essentially self-taught artist and the nation’s first great animalier (sculptor of animals), the lion pair was unveiled on May 10, 1894. Kemeys focused his talents on sculptural portrayals of North American wildlife, capturing such native creatures in anatomical, naturalistic detail. For the Art Institute, he modeled larger-than-life African lions, the one positioned north of the steps “on the prowl” and the lion to the south “in an attitude of defiance,” in Kemeys’s words. These behavioral distinctions are visible in the variation of head, tail, and stance. Each weighing in at more than two tons, the Lions were cast in Chicago by the American Bronze Founding Company.
Jane H. Clark, "The Art Institute's Guardian Lions," Art Institute of Chicago Museum Studies 14, 1 (1988) pp. 46-55, 102-103.